Online Sports Betting
Bet Sports Here:

The Sportsbetting
Most Innovative Sportsbook
Premier World Sportsbook
Popular Brand Sportsbook
Best Slots For Halftime

Sports Betting Dir:

To Bet Online Sportsbooks
Read Betting Reviews
Know Sports Betting Sites
Find Out About Sports Betting in the US
What We Know About Online Sportsbooks

Punt Sports Online:

UK Sportsbooks
EU Sportsbooks
Canada Sportsbooks
Australia Sportsbooks
Irish Sportsbooks

The Australian Triple Crown - A Horseman's Dream

In the world of sports, people love when athletes are faced with the "ultimate" challenge. When it comes to thoroughbred horse racing, that challenge comes in the form of a "Triple Crown Challenge". America has its version of the Triple Crown (Kentucky Derby, The Preakness, The Belmont) and its popularity is unparalleled. That being said, Australian horsemen and horse racing fans are just as enthusiastic about their version of the Triple Crown.

Where and When?

All three Triple Crown races take place at race tracks in Sydney, New South Wales. The first two races are run at the Royal Randwick Racecourse during the wildly popular Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, which is held in March. For the third race of the Triple Crown, the racing action shifts to the Rosehill Racecourse in mid April.

The Races

The first race in the series is the Randwick Guineas, which is run at a distance of 1600m for a purse of $550,000AUS. The second race, which is run a couple of weeks later, is the AJC Australian Derby. The Derby is run at 2000m for a purse of $500,000AUS. The final race in the Triple Crown is the prestigious Rosehill Guineas, a true test of endurance run at 2400m for a lucrative purse of $1.3M-AUS. All three "Group I" races are restricted to three year-old colts and fillies that are assigned set weights.

The History

Bookmakers and punters have endured a rough history waiting for potential Triple Crown winners. Since its inception in 1935, there have been only five horses to complete the Triple Crown Challenge and win all three races. They include Moorland (1943), Martello Towers (1959), Imagele (1973), Octagonal (1996) and It's a Dundeel (2013). Up until 2005, the first race in the series was the Canterbury Guineas, but it was replaced by the Randwick Guineas.

The Attraction

Horse racing is a popular sport and past-time in Australia. When the Triple Crown series comes around, even novice fans sit up and take notice. Punters will seek out their favorite bookmakers and look for free betting opportunities in order to get some action down on their favorite horse. The difficulty of the challenge keeps the prices very enticing as people dream of making their fortune while rooting for their interests. In the end, it's the pageantry and beauty of the sport that draws the fans. If you're gearing up to bet on the cricket this summer, best brush up with this guide first.

© 2008 - "BetSportsOnline" - All Rights Reserved --- Sitemap | XML | ROR | URL List --- Email Support